Votes: 10 23.3%

Votes: 2 4.7%
  • 1 = Horrible

Votes: 3 7.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Overall, how would you rate Altos de Chav?n?

(1 = Horrible, 3 = OK, 5 = Excellent)

Altos de Chavon Artists Village is a vibrant cultural community perched above the Chavon River. Cobblestone paths, coral stone fountains and terra cotta buildings create a magical effect in this village designed by Robert Coppa, an Italian architect who at the time was a Paramount movie set designer. He built it in the late 1970s to emulate a 15th century southern Italy-southern Spain village. Visitors today discover craft workshops, artists' studios, galleries and restaurants. Weddings are frequent at the St. Stanislaus Church, as few places can be more romantic than Altos de Chavon. The performing arts are showcased in the village's 5,000-seat amphitheater, inaugurated in 1982 by Frank Sinatra and is still attracting big name performers. Visit the Regional Museum of Archaeology, a small but wonderful display of the island's rich pre-Columbian heritage. The Art Gallery features contemporary art exhibitions.

Source: DR1 Travel: La Romana

2259027322d6a5b3d413oxy4.jpg

2226336491af1fe391d1ovd9.jpg

21690955276c64daf1d2bjy3.jpg

2179194234f0ca2e8ae0bci1.jpg

21784022076cb9c99f01brk6.jpg

-NALs

ben jammin

Aug 3, 2007
visited but did not have time to browse as we were taking a boat from there. it is a beautiful place in a beautiful sight. if we would have had to walk back up the mountain(down was difficult enough) i would have given it a 3 but since we rode back in a taxi i give it a five;)

CFA123

Silver
May 29, 2004
I visited Altos de Chavon once, and unless there were a concert there I can't imagine a reason to go back.