Legal question - maternity stuff

eralc777

Aug 6, 2005
Hi,
I need some legal advice and cant afford a lawyer so thought id ask here and pick peoples brains....

So, i am currently pregnant and hired by a school (I am a teacher) And before school finished i heard that our health insurance may not cover the summer break since they also decided not to pay us for that time too. So i asked my boss and she confirmed that it would definately cover me all throughout summer obviously as it is very important to me.

I went to the clinic today only to find out that the health insurance has been suspended as the payment wasnt recieved for it, leaving me with a large bill to pay.

Now.....im not too impressed....do i have the right to go in and demand that they pay for my insurance all over summer and for the rest of my pregnancy and my maternity leave? Or do they have the right not to cover me?

Also, can i also demand that money back off them?

Another thing, my boss told me that by law they arent allowed to cause any stress during my pregnancy and after all this happened and i was stinking mad, my usually perfect blood pressure was up.....can i use this to back up my case?

Thanks for anyone that an help.
I have read the Dominican work law document but it doesnt go into a lot of detail for maternity and contains no specifics about this certain situation.

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
I am unable to give you the LEGAL advice you require eralc777 but perhaps a gentle 'Tone Down the anger & demanding' might be helpful to you. If anyone came in DEMANDING to me, I would be a LOT less willing to help & meet their demands/rights than if they came in to DISCUSS things with me.