Post Office to send envelope to US?

Drro

Bronze
Mar 22, 2006
Hi

I'll be in Santo Domingo in October and want to send something hopefully via mail like Global Express or Priority Mail to the US? Is this possible and reliable from SD? (I'm from the North Coast and mail is not an option there)

Also, can you be specific. Would I have to go to a post office to do so and are they easy to find? I'll be staying somewhere near the San Souci Port - don't know where yet. Or can I prepare the envelope from the states and then just put it in a mailbox?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Rio

Tallman1818

Nov 19, 2007
Just use Fed Ex or UPS to send it from SD, don?t trust the Dominican post office service for such thing.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Hi

I'll be in Santo Domingo in October and want to send something hopefully via mail like Global Express or Priority Mail to the US? Is this possible and reliable from SD? (I'm from the North Coast and mail is not an option there)

Also, can you be specific. Would I have to go to a post office to do so and are they easy to find? I'll be staying somewhere near the San Souci Port - don't know where yet. Or can I prepare the envelope from the states and then just put it in a mailbox?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Rio
If you decide to mail it via the Dominican postal system, make sure you put enough stamps to cover the cost, if not; your mail will not be delivered and it may not be returned to you, especially if you don't have a P.O. Box at the post office where you send your mail from.

Do mail your stuff at the post office.

The last document I got via the Dominican postal service cost about 203 pesos (15 RD$13 stamps, 1 RD$6 stamp, and 2 RD$1 stamp) and took 2 weeks to arrive in the US. The express service would had been much faster, but its much more expensive.