use of precedent in legal arguments

d12

Feb 19, 2007
Hi, question for the lawyers here:

When the final written arguments are presented in a legal case in the DR are the attorneys allowed/supposed to cite prior cases as examples of legal precedent to argue their case or are they only to rely on their interpretation of existing Dominican Law to the case they are arguing. In the limited amount of escritos I have reviewed, I only notice references to specific legal articles and no use of prior decisions.

Thanks
D12

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com
I am no lawyer, but I would tend to guess that IF precedents could effectively be used in the Dominican... erm, justice (?) system, there would be virtually NO crime one could be declared guilty of, since so many have managed to bend the "justice" in their favor for all sorts of offenses and crimes. :D

... J-D.

d12

Feb 19, 2007
fantastic analysis

Just not the one i was looking for ;)

I totally agree with you by the way, which led me to believe that precedent wasn't allowed as a tactic here.

Now, lets hear from the lawyers

d12

Feb 19, 2007
How about Ldo Guzman?

How about an answer from Ldo. Guzman?

Just a general Dominican legal question, or perhaps a Napoleonic one :) There must be some lawyer with an appropriate opinion on this forum!

And such an easy question too!

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com
Of course, legal precedents ("jurisprudencia") are used all the time although the system is somewhat different from the one in common law countries.

Dominican courts are not subject to stare decisis and hence are free to interpret and apply the law as considered correct even if it means going against the interpretation given by the Supreme Court in a previous case.