Carlos G?mez - Architect of His Own Life

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
cimg0002aa4.jpg

That's the cover of Mercado magazine's December supplement "New York Special Edition".

For those of you not 'in the know', Carlos G?mez is a Dominican in New Jersey that through hard work, dedication, a positive attitude and an unwavering belief in himself, his dreams, and his abilities has built a career (and a fortune) from the telecommunications industry. Yes, he's the founder and owner of UTA also known as Union Telecard Alliance.

In the article they go into deeper detail of how he started his business and because a success without every being handicapped by lacking a college education.

Here are a few interesting facts about his empire:

UTA has yearly transactions of about US$1 billion.

Offers over 500 products, 350,000 distribution/sales centers, 120,000 active clients in its prepaid cellular division.

2,100 distribution/sales centers are composed by supermarkets and bodegas.

He's also actively investing in the DR, with his Fountain Blue Beach Resort investment in Juan Dolio and the Boca Chav?n Beach Resort with 400 villas, marina, 150 room hotel, and championship golf course.

Goes to show that a Dominican can achieve whatever he (or she) wants. The first step is getting rid of the Guacanagarix inferiority complex and the pervasive pessimism that characterizes most people.

A positive attitude and a belief in one's self takes men to heights they never dreamed of.

-NALs ;)

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002