Alex Rodriguez IS a Dominicano

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
Ah, OK Alex, es su PRIMO! y no es su CULPAaaaa.

Don't worry pal, your spot in the Hall of Fame is assured. Just as some of your compatriots who did such things as lying to Congress, yada yada yada. Make the DR proud of you (and want to claim you as their own).

Meanwhile, Pete Rose is banned for life and denied the Hall of Fame for what? Betting on his own team to win.

Confirmation of why I quit watching these bums. The sad part is, the cheating & lying bastard players are not the worst - Major League Baseball MANAGEMENT wins those honors.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
And where is the funny part in all of this?

To this day Dominicans have not disowned him. Angry towards what he did by choosing the U.S. over the DR, yes; but disown him never.

But some Americans that were eager to claim him as their own because he was born in Miami, grew up in Miami, attended Miami schools, etc. Being Dominican-American was not enough for some, the fact that Dominicans wanted him to identify as Dominican and only as a Dominican was not enough for some. He had to be an American, the all American boy. Sure, while he was on top that is.

Oh oh, now he's not wanted in the land of his birth, his childhood memories, his current home. Now he's not wanted in the land that once claimed him as one of their own.

Rodriguez was Dominican when he was a nobody, was Dominican when he reached the zenith, and is Dominican on his downfall.

As for his "American" identity, it appears that for some people, a person is only American under certain circumstances.

If anyone ever wonders why the rest of the world complains about Americans double standards on things, this is a perfect benign example. There are more atrocious examples for the picking as well.

-NALs :ermm: :tired:

Last edited:
Reactions: margaret

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002