Looking for 1-3 Month Apt Rental in Cabarete

rachelne

Jan 6, 2009
Hello,

I'm kind of new to this forum. Trying to figure out how everything works. But, no worries, before you send me to the search box, I did search for this and read through dozens of posts made by other individuals. Even PMed some of them to see how their search went and if they have any suggestions. And I have had some luck, honestly, but I wanted to ask the forum as a whole, hoping to get a better perspective.

I visited the DR twice last year and loved it! I just graduated from college last year and I spend my days sitting in a cubicle. In short, I'm miserable. So I thought I'd might spend an extended stay on the beautiful beaches of Cabarete while I figure out what I want to do with myself that doesn't involve sitting in a cubicle.

I was hoping to find some type of employment, if only part-time. My degree is in English, but it seems that English teachers are not as in demand as I might have expected. If anyone has information otherwise I would really appreciate the advice.

I'm looking to come down to Cabarete in the next few months to stay for anywhere from 1-3 months and am looking for a 1 bedroom or studio apt for around $500 a month. I don't need much though the internet would be nice and I want to make sure that it is safe! That's really my number one priority.

I've been to DR1's rentals and there is one there I am considering. And I know many of you will suggest getting there and finding a place, but as I'd be traveling on my own I'd almost feel more comfortable if I already had somewhere to go, though I am considering the alternative.

Any suggestions or advice would be very appreciated!

Thanks!
Rachel

P.S. Before anyone makes an insinuation, no I am not going for a guy or the swindling ways of a sankie. It seems many members think that's the only reason a gringa would want to spend time in the DR. With me that is not the case. (Though I admit the men there are pretty.)

CFA123