Neighbours constructing a wall partition

tish

Mar 10, 2007
Hi

I'm not sure if this is a legal question or not. Our neighbours are constructing a wall partition today. We knew about it a while ago, but it was only two days ago that our neighbours asked my husband if he could contribute for half the cost to construct this wall. We are in no position to pay half of this cost at the moment.

My question is are we legally bound to pay half of this cost for this partition or not?

Thanks in advance,

Tish

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
I am NO legal expert tish so it is best to use this information below PURELY as 'a thought process' for you to investigate further BUT ..........

MY understanding is that IF the wall is built on your neighbours land only you do NOT have to pay 1/2 towards the cost of having the wall built & you will NOT have to pay towards any future maintenance of that wall. You can not however have any discussion regarding height, style, colouring etc of the wall.

If the wall IS being built partially on your land, then you become responsible for 1/2 the costs unless you enter into a legal agreement with your neighbour that this has been waived by him/her. You WILL however remain responsible for 1/2 the future maintenance costs unless that too is waived in the legal agreement.

Although I do not recommend being confrontational with your neighbour, I would suggest you get to look at the plans for the nwall & establish just where it is to be built - if partially on your land & without your permission, you can request it to be pulled down & be built solely on your neighbours land (i.e. not 50/50 on yours too!). Try working things out WITH your neighbour before building if necessary rather than leaving it until the wall is built & if your requests are being steamrollered THAT is the time to go visit a lawyer to get the construction of the wall stopped.

Hope this helps you to discuss things with your neighbour today ~ Grahame.

tish