Canadian mining company to invest US$850 millions to build 2 hotels in Pedernales

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
If it's outside Bahia de Las Aguilas like the article says, I'm all for it. I'm sure they'll bus their guests to BDLA which would be OK as long as there are strict rules applied as to what can and cannot be done there, like for instance don't let the place be overrun with "Padres de Familias" selling all kinds of junk and littering. We have to be very careful with this fragile ecosystem...

Marilyn

Bronze
May 7, 2002
I agree with you

Being my family from Barahona, I'm all for opening the southwest for tourists and investors, but there are many "vultures" out there waiting for the opportunity to grab land at any expense, and we need to be very careful that the fragile ecological balance of the BDLA, and other protected areas is not upset; so the ministry of environment needs to be very alert.

mariel

Dominisueca
Apr 7, 2004
I'm not an expert but I think that part of the "allure" of that part of the country is its remoteness. One of my best friends said "it's not like we can pack our stuff and go there on a day trip [from SD], we have to plan to get there, especially when we need a 4WD (they have a 2WD)."

I'm all for progress but the day they build an AI on that beach, that's probably gonna be the day peace and quiet there as we know it will end. If they build those hotels in the town of Pedernales or even in any of the small ones on the road to Barahona, then it might be better (as long as the bus loads of tourists are organized to preserve the flora and fauna).

Marilyn

Bronze
May 7, 2002