Aquaculture in th DR #2

oceandiver

Jun 8, 2009
Hey guys,

I'm taking a trip to the DR at the end of August for recreation and hopefully for business. Does anybody raise shrimp/fish or know where some of these farms are located that I might be able to visit?

As for me? I'm a graduate student studying aquaculture and its my dream to live in the DR and make a decent living raising fish. For my thesis I can possibly intern at an aquaculture facility dependent on if I set it up correctly.

So please if anybody can tell me about the market for farmed fish/shrimp in the Dominican Republic, good choices of fish to raise, and any farms that they know of please help me out!!

Thanks Everyone!

-OD

Nov 25, 2008
25 years ago a friend of mine had one in La Vega raising shrimp, I don't know anyone now but I'm sure someone out their is doing business
good luck

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
Last edited:

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
There is a large commercial shrimp farm near Barahona.

hjvkm

Oct 8, 2002
Shrimp/Fish Farm

Hi,
I have 21 acers with 14 3,500 meters of pools. Room for 4 more. And a house on the site. It is inactive at this time . I was in a motor cycle accdiente.
But when was up and running i would sell at least 1,00.00 lbs. a month to local people who own restraunts and distributers. Without any advertizment.
Granted the farm needs to be cleaned up a bit. But the farm is a money maker!
It is located in Copito. Near Nagua.
Thank you Howard.

aross

Nov 15, 2007
There used to be a Restaurant on the road that goes up the hill beside the Police Station in Sosua that was owned by a man whose name was Antonio I believe (do not remember his last name). It was a fish restaurant (fabulous food with organic herbs and vegetables growing out back), and he had fish tanks full of shrimp and other sea food. The shrimp came from a shrimp farm he owned and operated and I believe it was located somewhere up the Moca Road.