Best popular music

Al Bundy

Sep 4, 2008
What is the most popular music in the clubs? What groups or artists are most popular with the locals in RD?

I ask, as I'd love to find some to listen to before coming over next month for my second visit. Didn't go clubbing last time, but might get out and about this time.

Al Bundy

Sep 4, 2008
Thanks for the reply Tamborista. Unfortunately my Spanish is terrible so the website doesn't make things much easier for me. I am checking out the artists in the Bachata section.

Al

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com
I am not good with names anymore. On top of that, there are soooo many local artists with some fame to it.
What has taken me some time to realize too, is the fact that music styles and versions thereof are classified in social levels too.

Bachata has certainly come a looooong way in the last 8 to 10 years to gain, not just some international recognition but also some broader acceptance among social differences in the DR. Yet, Bachata is still considered barrio music and suspected as a little tacky and at times even suggestive by those who believe to be just a tad "above" the barrio crowd.
I know some ranchos and even tipicos in town, which will not or only very occasionally play a "real" Bachata "de la calle", when they do not limit themselves to one by Juan Luis Guerra or Victor Victor. El Torrito may be somewhere in between with his more elaborate musical style.

Merengue... well, there was Merengue, Merengue and then, there is Merengue. Internationally (Cuba, Colombia etc) Merengue has always been belittled a bit for it's simple 1-2-1-2 rhythm.
There are basically 3 main groups of merengue;