Dominican Supermarkets

What supermarkets do you frequent the most?

• Pricesmart

Votes: 17 19.1%
  • Nacional

Votes: 29 32.6%
  • Super Pola (La Sirena)

Votes: 37 41.6%
  • La Cadena

Votes: 6 6.7%
  • Bravo

Votes: 3 3.4%
  • Plaza Lama

Votes: 4 4.5%
  • Jumbo

Votes: 12 13.5%
  • Carrefour

Votes: 9 10.1%
  • Other supermarket(s)

Votes: 30 33.7%
  • I don't shop in supermarkets.

Votes: 2 2.2%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What supermarkets do you frequent the most?

A) Pricesmart
B) Nacional
C) Super Pola (La Sirena)
D) La Cadena
E) Bravo
F) Plaza Lama
G) Jumbo
H) Carrefour
I) Other supermarket(s)
J) I don't shop in supermarkets.

You can choose multiple options.

Please explain what you like or dislike about any particular chain/independent store.

johnny

Bronze
Feb 8, 2003
hausenland.com
Bravo in Los Cacicazgos. my favorite.
Nacional in Arroyo Hondo very good too. and National in Ave. independecia, the only supermarket in DR. that has boneless thigh.
Carrefour has the best prices, but they never has enough cashier to pay.

bigbird

Gold
May 1, 2005
It's a tie.........

Carrefour and Nacional at Lincoln and 27 both have very good selections, hot food bar, fresh squeezed juices, and a good booze section.

whirleybird

Silver
Feb 27, 2006
Not being close to any of the aforementioned large supermarket chains, we tend to restrict our grocery shopping to the local supermarkets - Supermercado Rodriguez in Sabaneta and Super Yudal in Cuesta Barosa village. What they don't normally stock on a regular basis, they will get for us on request. For meat purchase we use the local butcher but we do have our own home bred animals for pork and lamb which, of course, we are happy to supply to others too - see our bigpalmfinca advert in the classifieds.... Occasionally we do visit Playero in Sosua but only under sufferance!! We just feel it is worth a trip to POP or Santiago to save a few pesos which we would spend on fuel getting there anyway!