What kind of Wireless N Router do I need?

The Virginian

Bronze
Mar 16, 2007
I want to setup a WIFI connection in my home. Not a technical person so I need your help to learn what kind of wireless N router I need to purchase. I live in POP and use Codetel DSL connection. I'm currently in the states and want to pick up the router here. Any idea of what I should get? thanks for your help. Phil

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
I want to setup a WIFI connection in my home. Not a technical person so I need your help to learn what kind of wireless N router I need to purchase. I live in POP and use Codetel DSL connection. I'm currently in the states and want to pick up the router here. Any idea of what I should get? thanks for your help. Phil

Just make sure that your laptop or PC etc also has a "820.11.n" wireless card.
Although most routers are backwards compatible to "802.11b/g"

The Virginian

Bronze
Mar 16, 2007
I'm just learning about wireless equipment and the guy at Best Buy said I should get a "N" type to make sure the distance is covered. Any thoughts on this? thanks again.

bigbird

Gold
May 1, 2005
I'm just learning about wireless equipment and the guy at Best Buy said I should get a "N" type to make sure the distance is covered. Any thoughts on this? thanks again.
How about giving everyone an idea of what you want to do? Is your home concrete walls? Will you have a main desktop with the router and your other computers will be desktops or laptops? What distance will your remote pcs be from the pc connected to the router?

bigbird

Gold
May 1, 2005
I have been using this router, Linksys WRT54G Wireless-G Router, for the past two years. The only problem I have had is sometimes it loses a connection with the internet. I unplug the power cord, plug it back in and I am up and running. I also purchased the PCI adapter cards.