travelling from Puerto Plata to Jimani by car

taster

Sep 15, 2009
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie and I hope i'm posting this on the right thread. It's a must that I travel by car from the Puerto Plata/Sosua area to Jimani. Looking at Google map maker that I got on here, the route I have in mind is as follows: From Puerto Plata take the main road to Santiago, then hop on highway 1 towards Santo Domingo. Then make a right and veer off at Piedra Blanca to take road "201". Then take road "41" by San Jose de Ocoa. Then catch road "2" to road "44", then veer left by the town of Tamayo all the way to Jimani. what do your guys think? Road conditions? Is that doable and if so how long do you think it will take? Thanks.

Last edited:
Dont know all the route numbers and to tell you the truth there are no signs on the roads saying what road your on. I have done this trip before and I know the route and some short cuts and its at least an 7-8 hour ride driving fast. You want to take the main road from Puerto Plata into Santiago,Once in Santiago go straight thru the first traffic circle and continue straight untill you see a a big building with an (H) Plaza Hace, then bear right and go straight till you reach a sign for Santo Domingo,Make that left turn then head straight for about an 1 1/2 - 2 hours till you reach the capital.Once your entering capital look for signs to Sancristobal and Bani take this hwy thru Sancristobal,then Bani (Lots of construction Bani-Azua) onto Azua.Once you pass Azua you must continue on towards Barahoana but you must turn off before Barahoana toward Lake Enriquillo and Jimani.The road is good for the most part except for the occasional herd of Cattle coming at you out near Jimani.

taster

Sep 15, 2009
Thanks for the quick response. I was hoping that there was a shorter route, in the 5 to 6 and a half hour range. I guess not ! Thanks again.