Anyone else bemused by the moderation here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slrguy

Oct 17, 2006
While I'm not a prolific poster, I AM a guy who appreciates the wealth of knowledge available here, and the board members' willingness to help. It truly IS a community - a wonderful thing, that.

I've spent a fair amount of time the last couple days reading old threads that interested me. And have been almost as entertained by the moderators' viewpoints as by the other content. Things like one mod blessing a thread, the other closing it. And "there's a very real danger of this thread becoming off topic to the DR..."

The board that I have been most active over the years with is soon approaching it's 10th anniversary. I've been there from the beginning. It's sponsored completely by a sailing magazine, so has no advertisers' pressures to deal with - although I'm not certain that advertisers ever really care about much more than readership. Maybe they do- is beyond my expertise. BUT - this board I'm referring to has a section devoted only to offtopic stuff. anything goes, there.

The kicker to all this is - this other board is completely unmoderated, and possible the most civil in how posters treat each other, than ANY I've ever seen. Well - there is a guy who will gently chide any truly offensive, unruly posters - but NEVER closes a thread, or get his panties in a wad over being offtopic. The most moderation I've EVER seen there is to delete a post, or send a thread to the offtopic area.