Anyone making Bio-diesel?

Stuart Polkinghorne

Nov 13, 2008
Is anyone making their own bio-diesel or know of someone making it?
What uses are they making it for, are they producing their own oil from seed or recycling it from deep fryers?

bearcat

Nov 12, 2008
Biodiesel manufactfure is a simple process it can be done with equipment that costs less than $US500.00. It is in a very simple format waste oil, lye and wood achol.

George Holmes

Nov 15, 2006
dofieldwork.blogspot.com
There are plans to introduce Jatropha into Hispaniola, particularly Haiti (though it would probably be equally at home in dryer parts of the DR). This is the principle biodiesel plant in Africa - crush the seeds (simple hand press works) and use the oil.

Got a few colleagues researching Jatropha in Africa - will keep the forum informed if I hear about any concrete plans for the DR.

Collingwood

Dec 4, 2004
Jathropa - Bio Diesel

I have been experimenting with Jathropa for the last 18 months as there are some large projects planned for Haiti and one in particular also had plans to expand into the DR however they seem to be in Pilot stage or caught up in the NGO bureaucracy.

I commissioned small projects on different phases of the Jathropa to Bio Diesel product cycle so as to gain a first hand understanding of the commercial potential with a leaning towards low tech processing and handling. (essential for rural areas of the DR and Haiti)
Project Results:
  • Harvested Seeds
  • Built a Press
  • Grew 2000 Seedlings from the seeds
  • Pressed Seeds to produce Jathropa Oil
  • Processed the Jathropa Oil into Bio Diesel
  • Processed Fruit and Seed Pulp into Briquettes
  • Produced Soap from the Glycerin Residue