Best (cheapest) Calling Method to DR from States w/ Cell Phone

GeeDee

Oct 27, 2007
Curious to know what others have found.

I currently use Tel3.com and am charged .05 cents per minute to landlines

and .089 cents to mobile phones.

No connection fees and rounded to next minute.

I am sure some of you have found cheaper methods. I only call from my cellphone. So any type of plans which requires you using a landline or computer wouldnt work for me. Blackberry applications would work if anyone knows of any. Also not into using calling cards. Thanks

Reactions: Lucille

waytogo

Moderator - North Coast Forum
Apr 3, 2009
Santiago DR
I have been using that same company for 2 years. Did a lot of research "at the time" and found none better. The prices you mention are a 30 day "only" promotional price.
Their after promotion, prices are...to landline other than Santo Domingo, 5.4 cents per..
to cell phone, 12 cents per,.. and to Santo Domingo, 3.6 cents per. All per minute.
There may be one cheaper, I couldn't find one cheaper or better.

GeeDee

Oct 27, 2007
Hey Thanks Waytogo...

They may have changed it since you joined. The promotional is .08 to cell and .035 to Landline and good for 30 days

I quoted the mobile plan. The rates you are referring to are the standard plan.

A little confusing these plans... Standard and Mobil.

waytogo

Moderator - North Coast Forum
Apr 3, 2009
Santiago DR
Since I live in the D.R. now I personally don't use it. I just load the plan whenever money is needed. My family and friends use it to call me so it is free to them.

Feb 7, 2007
Callcentric - Callcentric - VoIP Internet phone service
landline US$ 0.0385
mobile US$ 0.09
you must have VOIP phone or adapter
Excellent call quality. I am using them now from Europe to call back to the DR.

Vonage and Lingo offer unlimited calls to landline numbers in the DR within their monthly fee of US$25

ElvisNYC

Jan 27, 2006
Curious to know what others have found.