AirB&B Regulation in the DR

What do you a think should happen to AirB&B's in the Dominican Republic?

• I hope AirB&B is eliminated as they did in NYC.

• I hope they put in effect strong regulations on AirB&B.

• I hope they put in effect some regulations on AirB&B.

• I hope they leave AirB&B with no regulation.

Results are only viewable after voting.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It appears this 2024 is when the Dominican government will start to impose regulations on AirB&B. In FITUR 2024 in Spain, David Collado said that a new agreement already exist and is currently being studied by ASONAHORES to either agree or disagree. The proposed agreement is proposing new taxes to be imposed on AirB&B's in the Dominican Republic, currently are tax free. Most likely the new taxes will be passed to the customer of AirB&B's, so expect an increase of the prices of Dominican AirB&B's.

There are other types of regulations for AirB&B's currently not contemplated but could be in the near future, such as hotels are subjected to a particular standard and are randomly checked to make sure they comply with certain sanitary regulations while AirB&B's are not subject to any of that. Hotels sre the most pressing group asking for new regulations are imposed on AirB&B's citing they create an unfair competition with them.

Currently, there are around 99,000 AirB&B's in the Dominican Republic, already equivalent to more than half of hotel rooms available in the country.

---

I doubt the DR will go the extreme route as has been done in NYC where AirB&B's are now banned. They simply ignored putting more regulation and simply put them all out of business. Ouch!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This was the recent discussion about the new proposed regulations of AirB&B's in the Dominican Republic in Esta Noche Mariasela.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004