Increasing Waist Line = Increasing Economic Well Being?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Through the years many DR1ers have noticed the increasing waist lines among Dominicans, especially Dominican women, when a couple of decades ago almost everyone was physically fit. Apparently the DR is not alone in this trend and increasing economic well being seems to be the reason.

People are getting fatter around the world. And the problem is growing most rapidly in developing countries, researchers reported Friday.

"Over the last 30 years, the number of people who are overweight and obese in the developing world has tripled," says Steve Wiggins, of the Overseas Development Institute in London.

"As countries go from being low-income to middle-income, and heading towards high-income, people earn more [money], and they can eat the foods that they find tasty," says Wiggins, who co-authored the report.
Many foods people find tasty are also often the most fattening. Globalization has made high-calorie snack foods readily available at low cost almost everywhere.

Reversing this global trend, he says, could be accomplished with small changes to people's diets. In particular, public health campaigns could encourage families to substitute fruits and vegetables for high-calorie snacks.

But, the report concludes, there's been little political will in developing nations — where workers are finally enjoying a bit of disposable income — to tell people what they should or shouldn't be eating.
Overweight People In Developing World Outnumber Those In Rich Countries : Shots - Health News : NPR

If the correlation between economic well being and increasing waist lines holds true, then if the DR continues its trend, as shown in the following graph, it might become one of the fattest countries in the region and in the entire developing world.