Master Plan for Pedernales

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Urban Perfil presented to the public the master plan for the controversial tourism development of Pedernales. It will take place in Cabo Rojo. The first phase includes 4,700 rooms in 830 HA. The entire project will have a total of 12,000 rooms in 4,384 HA. It will also include the first two golf courses in The South. It doesn't say how many jobs will be created during construction and once it's completed and operating, but I wouldn't be surprised if this will be one of most, if not the most, job creation in that part of the country.

4318D7AF-EAA9-4031-B404-B1876591DFD1.png

5DCA86F2-F4FD-4078-84E4-7B62190CB497.jpeg

The Pier and Marina
69136666-5DCA-456C-AC1E-3CB501E9F809.png

9571DB50-DCAA-43B1-90DA-FB6446B49CE5.png

A Small Botanical Garden, also the first in The South.
0917E1A4-F3B0-48E4-9609-C63308FCFC38.png

The Village with shops, restaurants, entertainment, etc.
0EAC7837-E655-4886-A279-3EF5FA2DBA3A.png

A Wetland Nature Preserve
305E3C8F-8700-49A5-BDC7-C1652DA96A83.png

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Satelite view where the master plan will be created.

A6B78F86-5BFC-495E-872F-93CF922DF0F0.png

Reactions: cavok

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
That's how tourism on the north coast was started. The Central Bank is the owner of Playa Dorada and developed the place in the 1980's as the first mass tourism destination in the DR. Then the rest followed up and down the coast. It's very difficult to believe the same will not happen in Pedernales unless one of two things happens: the government would enforce zoning (judging by what happened in al, the other Dominican tourists destinations, I say this is highly unlikely) or it goes bust. The most possible result is that if this master plan is a success, tourist development would sprout up and down the coast and there will be stronger pressures to reduce the Jaragua National Park.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009