What is the real advantage to become a resident?

giga

Feb 11, 2012
Expat 13,

Can you pls send me contact of your lawyer?
You can send me pm please,

I disagree, I have had an account for 3 yeras no cedula-only passport, I received residency 6 months ago and opened another USD account and when handed them my cedula, after a couple minutes they handed it back and asked for my passport- I asked why they didnt enter or need my cedula- answer: your cedula is still not in the system so it has no value to us... I tried this with Claro as well for contract, same answer.. I asked my lawyer whats up and I personally went through the process in getting it at the correct authority so its not fake, just that the system takes forever to update..It will be expired before it is in the system... Like i said, means squat!!

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
I worked in a hospital here for 10 years.Retired,"AGAIN" 5 years ago.Now "Obama" sends me $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ every month!
So keep working,and paying taxes in the USA,I need a raise.
CCCCC

Aug 21, 2007
Financing w/o a cedula might be hard..... cash buying can be done but the insurance part gets dicey... read tough to impossible to collect on

I have read this on dr1, but my experience doesn't back up those comments. I know of a few people without residency who collected on car insurance with little or no problem.

Lindsey

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
I have read this on dr1, but my experience doesn't back up those comments. I know of a few people without residency who collected on car insurance with little or no problem.

Lindsey

You could be right LK,, I've never had the problem.

Like everything else RD related, it might not be as consistent as we would like.
Might work for some and not others...... better safe than sorry .

The bigger question is why some people shy away from the residency issue.
It never crossed my mind.