Ah, things are better. OR ARE THEY?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Typically Dominicans will always say things are getting worse - even amoung themselves. I asked my wife about that and she says it is normal for Domincians to complain regardless if things are worse or not.

She says quote: "La gente dicen que las cosas estan peores pero yo la veo a la gente mas gorda y colorada" and "Aunques la palma sea mas alta, los puercos comen de ella"
What your wife says is completely true.

Next time a Dominican tell you things are bad, ask him/her if he/she remembers a time when things were good.

Even in the US Dominicans complain. The complaints range from "in this country people live to work like animals" to "Americans are so cold, look how they throw their elderly parents into homes and forget about them and that's what our kids will do to us as they pick up the habits of these gringos" to "the way Americans rear their kids is wrong, a kid needs to be spanked to learn values and the difference between right and wrong, that's why this country's youth is full of shyte" and everything else you could possibly imagine a Dominican complaining about.

Plenty of stereotypes are mixed into the complaints as well as nonesense, but they are there and every Dominican has heared one or two from the mouth of other Dominicans.

I'm convinced that the fatalism present in all Dominicans (I find myself complaining at time for no reason and even when I have nothing to complain about :ermm: ) is a cultural legacy of the past when progressive years were followed by war and destruction. Thus, what's the point of expecting the future to be better than the present when the future almost always ended in social chaos and turmoil.