Window Fans -- why not?

GringoRubio

Bronze
Oct 15, 2015
Apologies in advance as this borders on the inane, but why don't dominicans use window fans? The wind dies at night, but it usually comfortable outside, but still warm inside the brick/cement houses. Also, my GF is downright religious about locking all the windows when leaving the house, so we usually return to an oven. A window fan cools things off in a hurry. They like them, great idea, and then turn on their oscillating fans.

I've brought multiple window fans to the DR in my luggage as I can't seem to locate them in stores, but they often get broken (one given away).

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Let me understand this a little better. You can't find window fans in any DR store and wonder why Dominicans don't use them... Am I correct this far?

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Let me understand this a little better. You can't find window fans in any Dominican store and wonder why the people don't use them... Am I correct this far?
Spot on. Something so easy to find back "home".

ctrob

Silver
Nov 9, 2006
I imagine security might be part of it - if you don't have window bars.

If it's your house, you could pop in a Whole House Fan thru an exterior wall. They are unbelievable for pulling in cool air. You can cage the outside of it so no security issues.

Reactions: GringoRubio

chico bill

Dogs Better than People
May 6, 2016
I imagine security might be part of it - if you don't have window bars.

If it's your house, you could pop in a Whole House Fan thru an exterior wall. They are unbelievable for pulling in cool air. You can cage the outside of it so no security issues.
Those tend to be very loud and big.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016