Porsche questions - importation into the DR, maintenance of car in the DR

Pikobello

Nov 12, 2020
Santo Domingo
I have seen some 911 in the capital, sometimes a Ferrari or a Lamborghini. Then I ask myself, what the hell do you want with this sportscars in a country without streets and speedlimits so you can't enjoy there real power?
For the streets in the DR it's more recommendable a Cayenne or Macan, better an Humvee. But yes, driving a 911 with sunglasses on you will become your attention, not only from women half of your age...

Reactions: aarhus

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I've seen a dealer in S.D. so that might be a better way to go.
It's the only Porsche dealership in the country and supposedly its the dealership that most sell Porsches in Latin America when taking into account the size of the market (aka, per capita).

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
A friend of mine in Sosua has had a Cayenne for many years. But he did build a steel garage to keep it in outside in an apt. complex parking lot.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
OK
I have just driven from Cabrera to Punta Cana

I saw Porsche’s, BMWs, a Bentley, Maserati..... all sorts... driving like maniacs , I might add

I have nothing ...NOTHING... against fancy cars
in fact , I own a Macan...in the USA... plenty in my part of the country

I have owned better marques too.

The Porsche is a good car.
is it the right tool for the job in this country ?

here I own a Jeep and an Isuzu MUX.... durable vehicles

Suit yourself sir.....
but , as has been said, the percep here is a bit different than LA or Miami or other big cities

BtW, when I had one of those ‘fancy’ cars..in the US.... I debadged it
it was unidentifiable except for Neptune’s trident
No Name

Just make sure you’re using the right car for the conditions

The reverse is driving the African safari vehicle to lunch at the Ritz in NYC
that looks stupid.....

if you choose to go forward.... go to the SD dealer.... you’ll be fine