Government considers Spanish and Israeli technology for fence with Haiti

Tarheel

Dec 19, 2005
It is a simple equation. An increasingly Haitian demographic will bring increasingly Haitian economic/social/political results to this country. Nothing more, nothing less. In other words, eternal instability and dysfunction, one Jacquerie* at a time.

* = This was the name for the peasant rebellions in medieval France.
Of course. Up here in the US we have many Mexican restaurants. Some of them are quite good.

Reactions: Yourmaninvegas

CristoRey

Welcome To Wonderland
Apr 1, 2014
Build that wall!
We have enough problems on this side of the island and do not need
incidents like this happening over here.

Reactions: Naked_Snake

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
As you know very well, Haitians pay corrupt customs/immigration officials to come into the DR. So the fence/wall will stop no one. It might stop a few cows however.
The current plan is to end illegal immigrantion within the next two years. The current president will still be in office then, so he will get either praise or criticism (probably both, but who will do what depends if illegal immigration is reduced considerably by then.)

They have to be well aware as anyone else that the fence alone will not achieve that. It will, however, makes it more effective to control illegal immigration and a replacement of corrupt migration officials with others that are not corrupt or less corrupt will be necessary. It's kind of what is happening now in various institutions of the government. In the rendición de cuentas at congress the president said very clearly that his government will not tolerate corrupt practices from anyone. Basically, anyone caught red handed can expect to not have the protection of the government.

Last edited:

Yourmaninvegas

Feb 16, 2016
-
And we all know kidnappings do not occur in the 🇩🇴 right now.

px_black.gif

Kidnapped Dominican Republic Baby Freed By Captors