Embarrassing Las Terrenas After Semana Santa 2021

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I think this video says it all. Las Terrenas was invaded by people during Semana Santa.

Reactions: cavok

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This is how it was. Coronavirus pandemic? Where?

cavok

Silver
Jun 16, 2014
Cabarete
Surprisingly, there were not many people on Sosua beach yesterday, but it was very cloudy. No trash scattered on the beach and a lot of police patrolling.

josh2203

Bronze
Dec 5, 2013
It was close to the same in Boca Chica. But as long as they were all outside, I don't see a big problem.

If they were to pick up their own trash and not destroy anything, I agree, there would be at least smaller problem... Same as with Malecon in POP, the animals that have their parties there leave it like garbage dump for Monday mornings...

Reactions: Big

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
I think this video says it all. Las Terrenas was invaded by people during Semana Santa.

Las Terrenas is invaded by people EVERY Semana Santa i.e. Spring break in Miami. It was less people than usual.
Unless, they closed the province or forbid private rentals, it was totally predictable.
The same people who are bitching and tagging on social media are the one renting their villas for 500 USD/night. :devilish:

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
Also, the beach in the video (las ballenas) was cleaned up by early morning.

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
That's nice. But.. it shouldn't have needed others to clean it.
Agree, but that's the DR.

In an ideal world, I would agree....But , a large gathering of young people with food involved (in styrofoam) AND alcohol will yield the same results whether it s DR or not.
I don't even think the beach had enough garbage cans for the amount of people present.

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
As unfortunate as it may be, it keeps some folks employed
who might otherwise be out doing bad things to put food on
the table.