• No, definitely most are not corrupt.

Votes: 18 45.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
An interesting question suggested is:

The average expat is corrupt?

It's a question worthy of wondering about since based on the image of expats created in the forums of DR1 is that many, perhaps most, expats are willing to do certain things in the RD that they would never do in their countries of origin. From paying a "gift" to the National Police to avoid further trouble to dating or having relations with a woman younger than they would never date in North America/Europe, entering the country as a tourist and staying well beyond the accepted 30 days without bothering to request an extension, etc. For some people these are signs of being corrupt since technically no one is forced to do those things.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating
Apr 12, 2019
Boca Chica
yeshaiticanprogram.com
I voted that most are not corrupt. I am an overstayer and will probably always be one. I don't consider that corrupt given that all you have to do is pay a fine. It's similar to speeding in the USA. Not a big deal.

I also have paid a few pesos in a shakedown. That is their corruption, not mine. It's just easier to do that than to take the moral high ground which doesn't net you anything.

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
I cant speak for others but I have met Epats that are very honest ethical people and others that are very crooked. Me, I am a follow the rules guy, probably ingrained in me by both my parents and my long military career. Well some of those under 18 girls are pretty hot looking, that's all I do is look. I am married and don't cheat. I did give a " gift" of 500 pesos a few years ago when I made an illegal left turn in Santo Domingo and was caught. I actually didn't know I was making an illegal turn as the sign was blocked by a semi-trailer. I don't know if there is such a thing as an average expat.

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009