Looking for a quiet living area in Sto Dgo

Squat

Tropical geek in Las Terrenas
Jan 1, 2002
Hi all,

This here is the start of an investigation for a possible move for myself & my family to Santo Domingo. Basically, I am looking for a middle-class neighborhood, that is quiet, no loud music, no party. Coming from Las Terrenas, it sounds almost impossible, hence this thread, to get other member's feedback.

Some place (rental), it can be an apartment or a house, 2 bedroom, fiber optic internet, and "no noise", or at least, very quiet. It would be a bonus if there wasn't too much delinquency too.

What is your experience? Is "quiet" something achievable in Sto Dgo?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
There are places, but it will depend on other factors. One thing Santo Domingo has much worse than Las Terrenas is traffic! It gets old very quickly.

Having said that, places like Costa Verde (right by the sea), Los Cacigazgos, Bella Vista and others tend to have many quiet areas.

Last edited:
Reactions: Squat

Pikobello

Nov 12, 2020
Santo Domingo
This is really difficult.I live now for 20 years in SD, all the time Eastside. I have Friends in all areas of the capital, and really quiet it's nowhere. The traffic specially in the national district is horrible. Living near the big avenues like 27 Febrero, Kennedy, Maximo Gomez or even the Malecon produce some crazy noise from early the morning to late evening. All Streets are full every time, the normal daily chaos.
I'm thinking contrary to you in the near future to split my live between SD and some nice place at the beach like LT. I'm going older now and want to slow down the life...

Squat

Jan 1, 2002
There are places, but it will depend on other factors. One thing Santo Domingo has much worst than Las Terrenas is traffic! It gets old very quickly.

Having said that, places like Costa Verde (right by the sea), Los Cacigazgos, Bella Vista and others tend to have many quiet areas.