Trip to the Dominican Republic turns into a vacation from hell: ‘We’ve lost everything’

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Another case of someone throwing shade and providing support to criminals just because.!!!! I work and live here ( I doubt you do) and am from Africa as well. I will not be duped by the "oh the poor unfortunate Haitian" scam. Haitians are not randomly beaten and if they walk around Sosua at night monger bar hopping they do indeed get arrested just like the Dominican chicas as they have been warned countless times. I suggest some start a go fund me page and take up a collection for the drug mules. If they break 20 dollars I will build you a watch
Don't get too much into a knot about it. It's becoming apparent to me at least that that issue is a much bigger issue in the minds of some expats than it is in real life. Hopefully I'm wrong, but it sure doesn't seem like it.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
??? you mean with people transporting a brick of drugs
Simply not worth a reply. At least in my opinion.

I realize I now have to state that things are my opinion regardless of what I personally know since I must respect the opinions of others even when I know their opinion is incorrect. Lindsay Kaufman and Mountain Annie are two of the most honest, truthful and respected people on this forum with far more experience than my on this point. My opinion coincides with theirs and not one of the others on this forum on this topic.

Lobo Tropical

Silver
Aug 21, 2010
It is no big secret that Dominicans do not like Haitians.
Dominicans are protective of their country.
The ingress of illegal Haitians is seen in many communities.
Living in segregated communities and speaking creole does not help.

Yes there are many hard working Haitians and some with language skills.
Regardless they will always be regarded as foreigners, just as gringos even those naturalized.

No country likes illegal immigrants, or the feeling of being overrun.