First Blacks in The Americas: The African Presence in The Dominican Republic

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
FIRST BLACKS IN THE AMERICAS
The African Presence in The Dominican Republic

R9HvDP.jpg

PS. This is not to become a racial debate thread. Simply pointing out a resource on a part of the history of the Dominican Republic by The City College of New York; the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Sport of Spain; Census-Guide of Archives of Spain and Ibero-America; Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership at CCNY; and The City University of New York (CUNY). Any post considered racial by anyone and at any time will be erased, recurrent violators will face temporary and/or permanent bans.

Auryn

Apr 22, 2012
Fascinating stuff. As is the genealogy of Dominican people and the stories of how Hispaniola was settled.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
1492, Pedro Alonso Niño, a black Spanish seafarer, piloted one of Columbus's ships, the Santa María. He returned in 1499, and did not settle.

7 years seems like he settled at least for a while. Maybe he couldn't get his documents apostilled ?
It was normal in those times for conquistadors and related people to oive in Santo Domingo or elsewhere in the current DR for many years before they went to other areas of Latin America. For example, Bartolomé de las Casas lived in Santo Domingo for a while, officiated his first mass in La Vega and lived in Puerto Plata for years before heading to Mexico. Francisco Pizarro lived in Santo Domingo for many years before going to South America and becoming the conqueror of Peru.