Haitians at USA/Mexico border

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008

Back in Haiti, expelled migrant family plans to flee again​

They will probably all try and flee again. I doubt many will say I am going to stay here and build my country. Many will probably try for the DR and now they learned Spanish in Chile.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating
Apr 12, 2019
Boca Chica
yeshaiticanprogram.com
They will probably all try and flee again. I doubt many will say I am going to stay here and build my country. Many will probably try for the DR and now they learned Spanish in Chile.

If they're legal in Chile or Brazil, they should try that first. Haitians in the DR, especially newer ones, don't have it easy. It's better that Haiti of course, but not a whole lot better.

They should never have left Chile or Brazil in the first place. But try telling them that.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A Dominican-Haitian says this:

“This is not what I imagined, being here,” said Celestin’s wife, 26-year-old Delta de León, who was born in the Dominican Republic to a Dominican father and a Haitian mother. “But here I am, although I hope to leave soon because the one thing I’ve never wanted for my daughter is for her to grow up here.”

De León intends to cross the border into the Dominican Republic with her daughter as soon as possible to reunite with her father, sister and brother while her husband flies ahead to Chile.

“The future I want for her is a better life, a more comfortable one, the kind a poor person can give their children,” she said. “If that life has to be in the United States, so be it. If it has to be in Chile, let it be in Chile. But let it be a better life.”

She and her family has seen countries richer than the DR, such as Chile. Her husband is already set on returning to Chile and, by the looks of things, the woman and her Chile-born daughter will follow. At least for them, DR is not an option.

aarhus

Jun 10, 2008