Border Fence

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I don't think I have met a single solitary Dominican here who is against a wall and stronger immagration enforcement.
Unchecked Haitian immigration makes it into the top 5 worries of Dominicans for the country. This is the case since the early 2000 at least. Look at the polls done by the Dominican media every few years.

Notice though how Dominicans choose Haitian immigration when that is the only choice regarding this problem. When among the choices are Haitian immigration in general and illegal Haitian immigration, Dominicans pick illegal Haitian immigration. What many people aren’t in agreement with is supporting illegal Haitian immigration, not Haitian immigration in general. People have no issues with legal immigrants from Haiti and no one protest that in every naturalization ceremony there are several Haitians becoming Dominican citizens.

Yourmaninvegas

Feb 16, 2016
-
Exactly, but many posters do not make it clear that they are personally opposed to illegal immigration.
And in their statements presenting anecdotal evidence in the minds of the Dominicans they personally know they do not make that clear either.

The Border Fence is being built to address address the several things.
POTDR "He said that the fencing would regulate migration flows by countering people smuggling mafias. It would also, he claimed, combat the trafficking of drugs and arms and protect farmers in the border region."

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Exactly, but many posters do not make it clear that they are personally opposed to illegal immigration.
And in their statements presenting anecdotal evidence in the minds of the Dominicans they personally know they do not make that clear either.

The Border Fence is being built to address address the several things.