Dominican Citizenship

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Okay very interesting. I went to the office in Puerto Plata about a year ago and asked and they said that I could do that there. I also became s citizen in June 2019 but because there were a bunch of problems after that because jce screwed up when making by birth certificate that I didn't got it until December 2019 and then I had my family visiting from Europe during Christmas and then Covid happened so I just didn't bother getting the passport. But last year when I was thinking about going back to Europe and according to my lawyer who had helped me with the citizenship I needed that to leave the country without paying I decided to look into fixing the passport. So I contact passport in Puerto Plata and they told me that I could apply over there. So very interesting. Anyway I never applied for it as I figured it was just strange that I would need a passport to confirm that I'm Dominican although having a cédula. So I never got the passport, and it was not true, no need to have the passport to leave. So I wonder what's the point of getting one? My European one works just great, so I don't feel I need one,.especially if it's so complicated.
Two things out of many:

1) You need a Dominican passport to pass through Auto Gate. Arriving at Las Américas or at Cibao along with other flights at the same time, Auto Gate is a blessing as most people have to stand in the long line for immigrqtion. There is no way around that. Maybe some people like to be in airports for much longer than they should, others like to be in them for the least time possible.