National blackout?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I have been talking to lots of Dominicans from all sorts of classes and most of them are aware of the issues and most of them recognize they are putting up with lots of BS. They admit themselves that they complain but put up with the issues instead of rising up and demanding change. Hence, I wouldn't call it ignorance, I would call it lack of coordination.
That's because there is nothing to rise up and demand. The solution to this problem is well known by most Dominicans and it lies in a change of attitude when it comes to free ---- errr, electricity.

That is one large piece of this puzzle and it falls right on the lap of --- oh oh ---- the consumers!

This is not a problem that can be entirely fixed "from above", its from the ground up. Everyone knows that, but few are willing to do what it takes (pay their bills and be legit)!

Its better to pretend that you are NOT a part of the problem, and use the results for politicking. And as anyone remotely acquainted with the DR knows, after baseball, politics and politicking is the national sport!

But its pretend, when most people stop pretending they have nothing to do with the electricity problem; that's when the attitudes will change and that's when real change in this sector will be seen.

Until then, its back to playing the blame game and the basic rule of this game is that the fault lies on everyone except you.

Wonderful, eh?

-NALs

Tropicdude

May 26, 2009
...make it 20...

it's back for now in PP.

Maybe never, I have been living in and out of the D.R. since 1976, and the rolling black outs happened back then also.

If you want to know why things happen, just follow the money.

there is a shortage of power production here in the D.R., why? is it because in the last 50 years they didn't have time to buy generators?, or do you think its because they couldn't afford these plants? nope, its about profit.