Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tourist stay question

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default tourist stay question

I have been travelling the DR for just over 3 months now and want to continue on for awhile, before I decide whether I will call it home and pursue legal residency. My work is e-based so it is irrelevant where i live.

As I understand from my exploratory reading on the board, my USA drivers license is invalid after passing the 90 day point. Therefore for me to keep my license in good legal standing in the DR, I need to trip out of country to extend it another 90 days, correct?
    What I am asking the board is what they recommend is the quickest least expensive way of accomplishing this task. Meaning is it a drive to Haiti(which now may be a challenge) fly PR or any other countires in close proximity. I want to do this on the cheap.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

fly spirit to fort lauderdale...

on the other hand... no habla espanol works pretty well as well... if stopped... ever

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like

Your other inexpensive option is to check out Jet Blue from Santo Domingo to San Juan. Last time I checked, the flight was a bit over $100.00 total (one way). I think Spirit is more, unless you get one of their $9.00 fares.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Is there always a 'workaround' to DR laws and restrictions?

Just makes me giggle.... been living here in the DR for 3 years and 8 months and have NEVER been asked to produce either my UK or Dominican driving licence yet but, fortunately, I have also not been involved in an accident harming a local or anyone else!

Ouch, perhaps I should not have said that!!!!!!!!!

Moderator - Clown Central
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by whirleybird View Post
    Is there always a 'workaround' to DR laws and restrictions?