Animal Cruelty at the New Life School, Sosua

Status
Not open for further replies.

hughatthepub

Mar 13, 2007
I am a resident of Sosua, where I have lived with my family since 2005. I am familiar with local customs and culture, having had a business and home here for the last 5 years. I have full legal residency here.

Yesterday my wife and I were driving down the Lamulata road, passed the New Life school at about 14.15. We were astonished to see a young Haitian lad inside the premises with an adult cat in his hand, which he was swinging around his head windmill style by the base of it's tail, whilst a bunch of his friends looked on with obvious mirth and enjoyment. We observed between four and six such rotations, but there very probably has been many more We stopped the car to remonstrate with this individual, who by this time was holding the naturally terrified animal by the back of its neck and its tail. We were intercepted by a member of staff who later identified himself as Joe though he declined to give his full name even though I introduced myself fully. He was white, about 5 10 and 200 lbs and was wearing the official New Life T shirt and shorts.
He seemed astonished when I told him that animal cruelty and allowing the same is illegal in this country (cockfighting currently excepted) told us to leave the boy alone as this sort of behaviour was simply part of "their culture" and that I was in a private place (so presumably I should not concern myself with what goes on there). At no time did he remonstrate with the boy, who throughout stood smirking and giggling, apparently he works for th organisation. It turns out the cat was a nursing female, but at no time did he tell the lad to release the terrified animal, despite it's obvious suffering being gripped by the back of her neck and the base of her tail.
"