Government Extortion From Gringo Citizens?

bobsimmons

Oct 14, 2009
Right now I feel safe going to the D.R. since I am only a resident and I am not a citizen yet....

Once I become a citizen of the D.R. and have my passport I would feel less safe in the D.R. because a citizen is property of the gov. and the government of the D.R. has more leverage over the freedom of its citizens vs. what they exercise over their tourist residents.

Has anyone heard any stories about the police or the government taking advantage of citizen gringos in their country by accusing them of something and then letting them off the hook after they have PAID OFF the authorities?

Please do not tell me not to become a citizen so I do not worry. I am not looking for such a disrespectful and worthless answer. Let us have some good and insightful discussion about this and give me what you know from experience.

Thanks to all the members of this forum, Bob :glasses:

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
Right now I feel safe going to the D.R. since I am only a resident and I am not a citizen yet....

Once I become a citizen of the D.R. and have my passport I would feel less safe in the D.R. because a citizen is property of the gov. and the government of the D.R. has more leverage over the freedom of its citizens vs. what they exercise over their tourist residents.

Has anyone heard any stories about the police or the government taking advantage of citizen gringos in their country by accusing them of something and then letting them off the hook after they have PAID OFF the authorities?

Please do not tell me not to become a citizen so I do not worry. I am not looking for such a disrespectful and worthless answer. Let us have some good and insightful discussion about this and give me what you know from experience.

Thanks to all the members of this forum, Bob :glasses: