Question on Duty

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
I have an expensive watch that needed repairs. I took it with me to the states and it's being fixed. The value is approx. $3500+

If it is shipped to me by Mom CB would I have to pay duty on it? How are expensive items shipped out of the country for repair, then brought back in?

Or should I just wait for a family member to nring it as their personal possessions?

drloca

Silver
Oct 26, 2004
Or should I just wait for a family member to nring it as their personal possessions?

Although I have no knowledge on the duty aspect, I would err on the side of caution with an item of high value and go this route. They could even wear it coming in , in the event they got their baggage checked...thats what we did when we purchased expensive watches in Hong Kong.

Celt202

Gold
May 22, 2004
I have an expensive watch that needed repairs. I took it with me to the states and it's being fixed. The value is approx. $3500+

If it is shipped to me by Mom CB would I have to pay duty on it? How are expensive items shipped out of the country for repair, then brought back in?

When you ship an expensive item out there is a customs form that can be filled out. If you ship with one of the companies like Business Mail or EPS they can assist you in filling it out.

That allows you to bring it back in duty free.

cobraboy

Jul 24, 2004
When you ship an expensive item out there is a customs form that can be filled out. If you ship with one of the companies like Business Mail or EPS they can assist you in filling it out.

That allows you to bring it back in duty free.
Prolly leaves me out. It went out with me on the airplane.

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com
Yeah, I wouldn't worry as much about duty but a total loss.