Correct me if I am wrong, but..

dew

Apr 24, 2010
It doesn't seem like the DR, in its current state, is the best (or even a decent) place for a recent college grad like myself. I am a 20 something Dominican born and US raised male that is interested in moving back to my home country. I graduated with a B.S. in finance and am simply looking at some of the options available to me. Actually, I'm trying to find out if moving, working and making a good living in the DR is even an option. I've done several internships in Japan and getting a job there is my "Plan A" for now, but I am just looking for opinions to see if DR could become my Plan C or D or E.. etc.

This might be a long shot but is how is the finance/sales/marketing industry in DR? Is it mostly local companies or are there any American ones with a presence over there?

Any input would be appreciated.

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com
Since there is, in my opinion, too little manufacturing, there are few Int'l companies present worth mentioning, except the ones linked to the tourism industry. Probably there are more call centers run by Americans than much anything else.
You could check with the US consulate and then try to approach these companies in the US and try to build a career in your field in and aim to position yourself so that IF they would send people down to the DR, you could be the one going there on a US salary. It's a long shot and the options are few, but at least, it would seem to me a safe approach so you don't gamble away your education and punch a hole into your curriculum.
Because the one thing you do NOT want to do, is to try around here, waste a year or two and have to come back and scramble for answers as to what you have been doing in the first years after your recent graduation. It could just too likely look like you went somewhere and failed. Not a good start.