Fabric Stores in Santiago?

stevie_kixx

May 3, 2010
Hey everyone! No one I've met so far here seems to be able to give me a straight up answer to my question so I'm hoping maybe someone here can...

I'm new to the DR, living in the Sosua area and I've been on a mission to find a fabric store for the past couple of weeks. I had been told that there was one in POP but I was better off going to Santiago as there was a larger selection and better prices (makes sense). I've got the route to Santiago figured out...now what?? I keep hearing that there are lots of stores in the older part of Santiago, but as I've never been there before that doesn't mean a whole lot to me. Is there a certain store (or stores) that I should be looking for? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

DavidZ

Silver
Aug 29, 2005
www.vipcigartours.com
There are many fabric stores in downtown Santiago, some are huge. Just go to calle del sol and walk around...checking out the side streets. the whole of downtown is not that big and the majority of stores are within one block of calle del sol. It is also a great day in itself, walking around the historic district.

mockingbird

Apr 3, 2007
My favorite one is called Multicentro San Salvador and is located on the street Bartalome a little way before Bellon.
When you come into Santiago on Carratera Duarte, turn right at Estralla Sadhala (there's a big Verizon/Codetel office to the right of that intersection).
Take that street (Sadhala) to Bartolome Colon and turn left (there's a large Hache to the right of that intersection)
Follow Bartolome for numerous blocks and watch for Multicentro on the left side of the street - it's a yellow + green sign. The main store has some material, but they have a gigantic warehouse at the back of the store which has better prices. The downside is it's a warehouse - with TONS of pallets stacked with bolts of fabric that seem to go on forever and can be somewhat overwhelming.