Security Concerns?

bullitt510

Apr 29, 2010
Hello everyone,I hope all are well. I am new to this site, and have been reading a lot of threads, several of them talk about how dangerous Sosua is, some of these are not current and some are, but they all raise some interesting questions.
I know the firearms laws in DR are difficult if not prohibitive to deal with,especially for an expat. Other than the option of a firearm, what can you carry with out breaking any laws. I also know that the "law" is open to interpretation and is for sale depending what officer you meet up with. I am no stranger to underdeveloped countries and the corruption that they breed. Several of the countries that I have lived in you just go out and buy a rifle and a dozen magazines, then when in doubt shoot it out. I understand that's not an option here nor should it be, I do not see the need.
I have been coming to the north coast since 1984 and it seems to me that it is a very peaceful place, and all but a few have been friendly and helpful,I have been on several day trips to other parts of the island and still no issues. I have now bought a place to live in Sosua with my (expat)girlfriend.
I know that the best defence in not being where the problem is, and if confronted with a possibly violent problem "run away" a la Monty python, sorry I had to throw that in. But ... if confronted and you cannot retreat or extricate yourself from the situation, my response would be to close on and neutralize the target to eliminate the threat, using only the necessary force to do so.
Here is the disclaimer, I just would like to know my options, and am in no way going to go out looking for trouble, how are knives or impact weapons looked upon. Is it a what they don't know wont hurt them scenario.
Thank you all for your time, I hope I didn't come across as a total cherry, but ignorance can only be over came with information.

calle13

May 2, 2009