?s about moving to Santo Domingo this summer

blackisback

May 9, 2010
Hello Everyone~

I am moving to the DR within the next couple of months, but I still have some unresolved questions I hope you can help with. Any aspect you can comment on would be really helpful! I'm also looking to make some friends before I go! Thanks :cheeky:

I will give you some lengthy background info:
I'm a 23 year old graduate student studying international development. I am hoping to get an internship with a US development agency in Santo Domingo, but I won't know until they contact me. The position with them runs from July - December. They don't pay interns, so I will be using my school loans for that semester and money I've saved up over the next two months to travel to and live in the DR. (The masters program I am in now is online.)

If I don't get the internship, I'm moving anyway, to just get away and be with my boyfriend for a few months. While I am there I will keep looking for other paid or unpaid positions in development. A major reason I decided to do this is because future International Development Internships will look for people who have worked abroad. I have previously worked in Haiti doing short term projects (1 week, 2 weeks). So I figure get the experience and live near my bf for the same or less than living here (in Washington DC area where rent alone for a 1 bedroom is $700 in the most roach infested area).