FL Podiatrist and son search for lost city of gold in Dominican Republic

chicataina

Apr 14, 2010
FL Podiatrist and Son Search for Lost City of Gold
Doctor John Mina of Lee County is a podiatrist by profession, but he's an explorer and adventurer at heart. Starting this Friday, Dr. Mina, his 17-yr. old son Tony, and eight other veteran explorers, will head into the jungles of the Dominican Republic, looking for a 'Lost City of Gold'. "When you have a passion to discover, only an adventure will quell it," Dr. Mina told WINK News. "It is a rush, very exciting, to un-earth something that no human hands have held for maybe 2,000 years!" he added.

Dr. John Mina
The Minas will fly to the Dominican Republic, and will become the first foreigners officially invited by the government there, to try to find the lost city of Bartholomew Columbus. He was the brother of Christopher, and travelled to what we know as Hispaniola in the late 1400's, on Columbus' second voyage to the new world. Bartholomew found gold in the jungles of what is now the Dominican Republic, and he founded a city near the site of the gold. Later though, he abandoned the area, and nobody has found the city since then. "We will have metal detectors and old maps. We hope to find some artifacts that will tell us, this was the settlement," said Dr. Mina.
Source: WINK News [6/16/10]

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
They are too late...the city of gold is Cotui and Barrick Gold already "found" it.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
You gotta be kidding me!!! What a fool! And of course the DR gummint is eating it up.
Jungle? Where???
I'll tell you where: No place that Bartolomeo ever set foot in is now unexplored!!

This is pure cockamamy bull doo-doo....Total crappo...and a major waste of time and resources.

Maps? Of what??? Gimme a break!!

HB

DRob

Gold
Aug 15, 2007
Some guys will do anything to get away from the missus for a few weeks in DR....:bunny::bunny::cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:

Last edited: