Thinking about relocating - few ?s re: income

jdubs

Jul 28, 2010
The woman and I are planning on relocating somewhere in the near future. I'm pushing the dominican republic as we are both 29 years old and cost of living is a very important factor.

I studied exercise physiology and opened a gym after college. My specialty was weight loss and lifestyle coaching.

My question is: does anyone believe there is an opportunity for either a personal training studio or inhome personal training in an area heavily populated with expats (reasonably priced, of course)?

Also, we would move down tomorrow, but we'd only have about $50,000 in cash. I have read lots about CDs and interest rates and we can wait a few years and come down with double that, but we're tired of being indentured servants to corporate america. How stable is the banking system for anyone that has experience with it?

I have a rental property which currently nets about $500. Would I need to sell it or is it easy to handle that from the DR (as far as depositing the rent and paying the mortgage)?

Any thoughts, suggestions are extremely welcome!

Regards,

-Jonathan

Rbh44

Mar 28, 2007
Research

Use sites like this and others for your research. Do a lot of research and then do some more. I doubt there is a large enough pool of potential customers for your business...... but you never know.

E

engineerfg

American Income Stream ->
- if you could CLEAR $500/month in the USA (after expenses), you'd be making the same as an entry level dentist or 2 security guards here. Which is probably middle class. you could live okay, by not buying any imported products ie. forget stella artois or even tostados.

Banking System Here ->
- banks here are safe. scotiabank is a Canadian bank (although admittedly their operation here is a local subsidiary). they pay reasonable interests on bankers acceptances and term deposits. so you don't have to worry about your savings being looted by some gangster.

Exercise Physiology ->