More Questions on Employment in DR

hairdivany

Jul 27, 2010
I'm sure these things have been asked a million times in the past, but since we are considering the DR as a relocation place, I thought I'd ask, please forgive me...

My husband is retiring from the US NAVY, at age 45 and will have his retirement, he's thinking of a business in the DR, a bar....

I am quite a bit younger then him and I would like to find some work in the DR, I have extensive experience in Payroll, Accounting, Insurance & Medical Billing & Coding. I also have US Banking experience, I worked as a bank manager. What kind of work could I possibly find in the DR? I understand I won't make big money, that's ok. Where can I look for jobs??

Thank you so much in advance, and we are looking in the Sousa area.

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
I would only open a bar if I didnt like to drink !
I dont think you will find any banking or accounting work unless it was doing accounts for a condo complex or something which would pay peanuts

Expat13

Silver
Jun 7, 2008
I'm sure these things have been asked a million times in the past, but since we are considering the DR as a relocation place, I thought I'd ask, please forgive me...

My husband is retiring from the US NAVY, at age 45 and will have his retirement, he's thinking of a business in the DR, a bar....

I am quite a bit younger then him and I would like to find some work in the DR, I have extensive experience in Payroll, Accounting, Insurance & Medical Billing & Coding. I also have US Banking experience, I worked as a bank manager. What kind of work could I possibly find in the DR? I understand I won't make big money, that's ok. Where can I look for jobs??

Thank you so much in advance, and we are looking in the Sousa area.

Do you speak Spanish? If so and you get quickly familiar with the accounting and taxation, labor laws here, you may have a shot.