Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mad for Mint

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Mad for Mint

So I have been craving chocolate mint chip ice cream for a couple of months now. Even a York Peppermint Patty would do..... but I cannot find the ice cream, nor the peppermint patties.

At PriceSmart today I came upon an ice cream maker that cost just a tad more than I would pay for it in the U.S. Bought it.

Now I am prepared to fix my own cravings. I found two recipes online for chocolate mint chip ice cream. One uses fresh mint, but makes a custard type ice cream and has so many steps it would be an all-day process.

The second recipe calls for peppermint extract. I looked in Santiago and I looked on the North Coast, but cannot find peppermint extract anywhere. (In the U.S., sometimes extracts are sold in pharmacies, strangely enough, but I haven't seen them in pharmacies here.)

Anyone have an idea where I can come up with peppermint extract and FINALLY fix my craving for good?

Lindsey

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like

Not quite the same but I substitute creme de menthe.

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Can you get Mint Oreos down there or grasshopper cookies? A Mint Oreo Ice cream sounds amazing.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Mint Oreo ice cream DOES sound amazing....don't feed my yearning, PeterInBrat!

What I see in the stores is Oreos with green filling that has the same white flavor, not mint. (Seems kind of a shame....)

And, Abuela, if worse come to worst, I will do a bit of the steaming mint in milk, but then add Creme de Menthe- not much! The alcohol is supposed to do the ice cream some good....prevent it from getting too hard...don't know for sure, as I am new at this.

Lindsey

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

You could also try melting mint candy in a small dish of water in the microwave then adding it into your cream mix. I'd still use crushed OREO cookies with it. No thin mint cookies in the DR???