Mad for Mint

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 21, 2007
So I have been craving chocolate mint chip ice cream for a couple of months now. Even a York Peppermint Patty would do..... but I cannot find the ice cream, nor the peppermint patties.

At PriceSmart today I came upon an ice cream maker that cost just a tad more than I would pay for it in the U.S. Bought it.

Now I am prepared to fix my own cravings. I found two recipes online for chocolate mint chip ice cream. One uses fresh mint, but makes a custard type ice cream and has so many steps it would be an all-day process.

The second recipe calls for peppermint extract. I looked in Santiago and I looked on the North Coast, but cannot find peppermint extract anywhere. (In the U.S., sometimes extracts are sold in pharmacies, strangely enough, but I haven't seen them in pharmacies here.)

Anyone have an idea where I can come up with peppermint extract and FINALLY fix my craving for good?

Lindsey

Aug 21, 2007
Mint Oreo ice cream DOES sound amazing....don't feed my yearning, PeterInBrat!

What I see in the stores is Oreos with green filling that has the same white flavor, not mint. (Seems kind of a shame....)

And, Abuela, if worse come to worst, I will do a bit of the steaming mint in milk, but then add Creme de Menthe- not much! The alcohol is supposed to do the ice cream some good....prevent it from getting too hard...don't know for sure, as I am new at this.

Lindsey

May 29, 2006
You could also try melting mint candy in a small dish of water in the microwave then adding it into your cream mix. I'd still use crushed OREO cookies with it. No thin mint cookies in the DR???

I used to make ice cream cake by alternating crushed OREOs with ice cream in a cake pan. Start with a layer of ice cream then add a 1/2" of crushed OREOs. Add a little melted butter to the OREOs to make them stiffen up. Top with ice cream then use choc syrup to make a Napolian design on top:

Aug 21, 2007