Cabarete Beaches?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwhite82

Aug 29, 2010
I am looking at booking a private villa near Cabarete for a family vacation over New Years. There will be 3 couples, two of which have small childeren, so nightlife is not important.

My main concern is the quality of the beaches in the Cabarete area. My wife has heard that since it is on the Atlantic side the beaches do not have the Caribbean feel (i.e. the water isn't as clear and has rougher surf).

I really like the villa we have found as it has both a pool and is beachside, but I want to make sure we will not be disappointed in the quality of the beach.

Any comments?

ohmmmm

Bronze
Jun 11, 2010
I am a beginner to Cabarete, but what I've learned so far after two trips is that the beaches to the west of the downtown are good but you will share them with kitesurfers after about noon or 1pm. I thought the water was very clear. The waves were moderate so you can bob up and down without a lot of rocks to worry about and there was no undertow. I have no experience with the beaches east of downtown, but I think some areas are suitable for swiming and some are not, from my discussions with some people that live in the Cabarete area. Overall, the beaches are fine as far as I am concerned. Some areas that are not developed or occupied are not cleaned up as well as others... Beaches belong to the public, so you can take long walks along the beaches.

The water was clear when I was there this summer. I have been in Aruba during hurricane season and the water was cloudy with sea weeds washing up then, so I imagine that the clarity of the water depends on the season a bit for all the islands.

Reactions: mike l

2thebeach

May 7, 2010
beaches

Sousa beach is much nicer for swimming especially with young children. They can walk out far and there isn't much surf.

Reactions: mike l

oriole100

Bronze
Oct 9, 2005