documentary on White Haitians

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
159 views and not a single person says anything in an internet board where any thread, regardless how mundane, how irrational, how unimportant it may be, receives at least one post after 60 views.

Oh well...

I managed to see the documentary in the its entirety and it was very interesting.

Some of the points I got from the vids:

1. Dessalines had not ordered the butchering/explusion of all whites, he did made an exception for those who had the 'know how' for the sake of keeping the Haitian economy running. Doctors, merchants, engineers, etc were spared. Hence, while Haiti lost most of its whites during the revolution, a tiny number remained to run the economic show along with the mulattoes.

2. The Duvalier years were harsh on the white minority. First, the Duvalier excluded the business community (much of it apparently was white) from the political process. Anyone that didn't heed to that exclusion was either killed (along with the family) or exiled. Duvalier, Jr. (Baby Doc) was worst since he was hardly educated and pretty much help destroyed much of the business class his father had not done so by the time of his death. Needless to say, during the Duvalier Haiti saw a new exodus among its white minority and along with them, apparently, went the brains of the ins and out of the Haitian economy since they owned/controlled so much of it.

3. From the video it appears that the economic decline of Haiti was, as has been debated in the forum, self-inflicted and, at the same time, imposed from abroad. The self-inflicted part was mostly of a political nature driven by the greed for power and, perhaps, racism and the desire for vengeance due to the history of whites, blacks and mulattoes in Haiti. With the departure of a large segment of the white minority, whom controlled much of the economy, so too went away Haiti's economic stability and relative prosperity.