Looking for employment in childcare or teaching position

mmccom2

Sep 7, 2010
Hi I'm Martha! Soy Marta! I'm looking for a job in early child care, nanny, babysitter, or substitute teacher. I live in the United States now but I would like to live in the DR. I have been to the DR several times. I have a boyfriend down there so I know Dominican livng and I've lived down there for 2 months...I am taking the TEFL class online to gain my certification. I was looking for a job on the south east coast- La Romana, Bayahibe,etc. I was wondering if hotels would hire me for child care because i'm fluent in English and intermediate Spanish-still learning more Spanish,not fluent yet but will be! For child care- here in te states I have my 90 hours certification and CPR. I have had 6 years of child care experience here in the states. Please let me know if there are any availabilities or how I could improve myself in getting a job before residing in DR. Thanks.

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
First off you need to get your cedula application in, if you land a job at a school then they usually sort that out with you. You will be lucky to get a job in a school with only an online TEFL, most schools will only employ you with a degree plus at least a real time TEFL, in this case online education means very little, anyone can get it and you need not have had any contact with kids at all (which obviously comes with experience, everyone needs to start somewhere), or even been in a class environment which a real time TEFL will give you.
Your Spanish will need to be excellent to get a job in a Hotel.
The good thing is you have childcare experience of 6 years which stands for something.
There are lots of nursery schools around but not speaking good spanish makes that an almost impossible avenue to take.

laurajane

Bronze
May 23, 2005
www.thecircusofdreams.com